Table saw recommendations November 28, 2014, 11:53pm
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Forum Login
Login Name: Create a new account
Password:     Forgot password

Woodworkers Guild Of Georgia Message Board    General Boards    Tools  ›  Table saw recommendations
Users Browsing Forum
No Members and 9 Guests

Table saw recommendations   This thread currently has 1,541 views. Print
1 Pages 1 Recommend Thread
kevnm67
July 28, 2011, 4:57am Report to Moderator
Good morning,

I want to get some of yalls opinions on table saws under $400.  I'm new to woodworking and have been completing small projects - raised garden beds, window herb box, a small bookshelf...  I tried the skil table saw, which was really flimsy, and returned it for a hitachi miter saw, which I plan on returning.  I don't have a lot of space and will be storing it in a shed in my backyard and moving outside to use.  Any suggestions on what to look at and why?

Thanks!

Kevin
Logged Offline
Private Message
Jim Dillon
July 28, 2011, 6:15am Report to Moderator
Verbal Member
My honest opinion is that if your budget is $400 and you want something decent you're going to have to go with a used saw. Look at the table saw chapter in Mark Duginske's book, Mastering Woodworking Machines, and then go shopping for a used contractor's saw on Craig's List. With patience and careful shopping you should be able to get something for under $400, maybe even far enough under $400 to buy a mobile base for it.